I was so excited to finally get to go on a field trip with Macie! The first graders were taking the bus to Sacramento to the history museum and the little downtown school house.

On the way down Macie sat with Brianna and her mom and I got stuck sitting with Cade in the seat in front. It was a loud bus ride with 51 kids!!!! I was in charge of Lilly H. Brianna Madison and Macie in my group. We went to the history museum first where they took us upstairs and showed the kids an old trunk filled with different replicated items.

Each group then got to pick and item out of the trunk, look at it, and present their findings to the rest of the class. Our group got some old shoes, a bucket and a lantern. The kids liked presenting their findings. Then we went downstairs to see the real trunk that was discovered under a porch in Sacramento in the 1800’s.

It was snack time as we walked over to the schoolhouse. Inside the schoolhouse the teacher seperated the boys and girls and explained how in the olden days they were called “masters” and “mistresses”. The schoolhouse was Macie’s favorite part of the day.

On the way back Macie sat with me and Lilly H. I was happy to have her there next to me for the drive. Cannot wait until the next field trip.

